Example: Kemas’het’min edueha’het’ny mi’derek.
Version-GEN3PL file-PL 3S-be.deprecated.
The files are deprecated.

This example sentence maybe needs a bit explanation. This sentence actually means something like “The version of the files is deprecated” indicating that the files are all part of a larger set. Another valid translation probably would have been: “These files belong to a deprecated version”.

Someone today told me that I overused the term ‘deprecated’. I guess it was because I tried to avoid the synonyms: shitbox, craptop, PoS, antique machine, fossil, etc.

Edu’het means set, eha’tan means value. As such, the idea of a file is very definitely related to the time when men were real men and wrote their own device drivers. It does not use partly confusing metaphors. This is something which rejistanian probably does too often: refer to the essence of something without the use of metaphors. Of course, sometimes, rejistanian also is metaphorical, but in general, poets will not really like the language. Poetry is possible, sure, but it was not created by an artist like Esperanto, it was created from earlier pidgins by a committee. This is a certain bit of aesthetic which is not beautiful in the usual sense, but to me, it is nice. There is a certain beauty in avoiding the indirect in favour of the direct and unmediated. I noticed that I dislike the metaphorical ‘language’ of GUIs on a computer as well and prefer the more direct approach of the command line. I think this is a bit related, it is a preference which manifests itself differently. Rejistanian can get away with these kind of things in-universe because it still is not an old language (even though I never gave an actual age).

To a related but more linuxy topic: I realized yesterday that I am probably one of the few people who prefer music123 (a _very_ neat script to play music files via command line) over graphical programs like VLC, amaroK etc. I prefer to organize the files on my harddisk myself because that way, things are my organisation, as idiosyncratic as it might be. Or does anyone else prefer programs like music123 which do not have playlists or some crap like that? Where you just give it a filename and it plays that?

BTW: talking about Linux: I today found out that tune2fs -L name $device can name an ext[234] partition after formatting it. $device of course needs to be the device name of an ext[234] filesystem.