Example: Xe’ena ‘isena sistenha njinji’ta al.
(1S-need.to (INF)include system intangible many)
I need to install much software.

Yes, on a new system, a lot of things have to be installed among them, some of the worst hacks and kludges out there. Some of these are really… kludgy (or ika). One of them, I should document: To make my Logitech Marble Mouse trackball (or for the NaNoWriMo crowd: my rat*) work with udev requires a few commands to be exceuted at the start of your X11 session:

#!/bin/bash
xinput set-int-prop “Logitech USB Trackball” “Evdev Wheel Emulation Button” 8 8
xinput set-int-prop “Logitech USB Trackball” “Evdev Wheel Emulation” 8 1
xinput set-prop “Logitech USB Trackball” “Evdev Wheel Emulation Axes” 6 7 4 5
xinput set-button-map “Logitech USB Trackball” 1 8 3 4 5 6 7 2 9

This makes the vertical and horizontal scrolling work when simultaneously pressing the small left button. And has that one work as middle mouse button. Horizontal scrolling is often needed to make full use of the crap some people call webdesign, thus it is required to keep me from being too annoyed with the web and considering bombing it back to the stoneageHTML3.2 days.😉

How is that posting related to conlangs? Well, noticed the cursive text? It would be the kind of phrases which ‘ena in one conjugation or another one would replace in translation. BTW: instead of “I need X for Y”, rejistanis often prefer a more impersonal construction when talking about demands: “X mi’rala’ena Y’han” X is required for the benefit of X. As adjective, it means ‘needed’ or ‘required’ and the noun ena’tan means requirement while ena’het just refers to something that is required.

BTW: I want to thank taronyu for mentioning me in his presentation in Edinburgh (youtube video). It makes me feel as if my 9 (or so) years on working on rejistanian payed off.😉

EDIT: Link is right now.