I already mentioned this word in an earlier entry about takani’tan. Let me contrast these two words again. Takani’tan (carnal love, attraction) is what makes you wake up next to a person whose name you cannot remember. Vasina’tan is what makes you call the person you love in hospital every day even though it is an expensive intercontinental call fo you. Thank you again for that, Boris. It meant so much to me!

It is very important not to confuse these two stems when talking about children. You can use ‘vasina to express your deep dedication and parental love towards them.

‘vasina means “to love” and “vasina” means loved. Vasina’he means someone you love and kenvasina’he is the significant other in a marriage. Marriage itself is antal’het vasina: ceremony of love.

The stem sounds almost like a part of the female anatomy, that is unfortunately true, but it is actually vana with the infix -si-, which here works as intensifier. -si- is not productive in Rejistanian but in its source languages.

Example:
Boris, xe’vasina il. Xe’ma’ta ‘sanja saovi.
(Boris, 1S-love 2S. 1S-be_able-NEG (INF)live alone)
Boris, I love you. I cannot live alone/without you.

In other news: I love the maturity of the conlanging community. I did not get comments about the last Rejistanian word of the Day but only about the unrelated linguistic questions.🙂

Matthew Martin, the Toki Pona speaker who translated Unabsteigbarkeit for me linked in his blog to a budding new ressource for conlangers: A Stackexchange site-to-be. Let me link to how he describes its pupose. You probably are unable to comment on his blog due to technical issues. He didn’t know of this until I mailed him about it.

Also, in case you are coming from the aggregator: I made a static page about why I conlang and why I made rejistanian. It was partly inspired by the comments of that Esperanto advocate in the posting downblog as well as the comments I hear IRL about it.

And the infrequent IRC quote:

( Fenhl) I should learn more Rejistanian
( MalfermitaKodo) Fenhl: It is a rather easy leanguage at least in terms of grammar
( Fenhl) I know, I’ve read parts of the overview on github
( Fenhl) not very much though
( Kasuaarit) I still haven’t read more than 50% of the overview
( Kasuaarit) and I get by.. alright
( Kasuaarit) I guess I just learn by imitating Mal

I take it that this is the sign of a consistent, comprehensible grammar.