Example: Ulu mi’ut ji ulu mi’tari.
Something 3S-end and something 3S-begin.
Something is ending and something begins.

(I am aware of the wonky tenses here, blame Madonna and especially the song Nothing really Matters for that please.) The difference between ‘ut and ‘uta is something for another blogposting, today, I want to begin with beginning. But first I want to explain something semi-related: “Next” is masi in rejistanian, “previous” sima. I never really liked this, but now I realize that masi and tari (as adjective form it means “starting”, or “beginning”) share the CaCi scheme. And suddenly I like the word and find it extremely fitting. I like rejistanian and when I notice some things like that, I have the feeling that it likes me too.

‘tari means to begin. It is quite that easy. It is used with an infinitive or a noun. For example: Xe’la’tari ‘dimil ameri’het jilih. (I have started to write this text) or Xe’la’tari ameri’het jilih. (I started this text). It is used for starting activities or processes, not devices. Tari’tan is the begin and tari’het something which is in the process of being begun.

I noticed something else: I quite often started a sentence with an apostrophe, and then didn’t capitalize the letter after it. I have seen it done differently elsewhere. For rejistanian, that is no big deal. The native alphabet lacks capitalization and the apostrophe will not get into initial position of a sentence in most circumstances. If I write about rejistanian words though, this is something, which matters. I personally like the current scheme which makes a verb in the infinitive quite distinct from an adjective (if I would capitalize the first letter, “‘Tari” and “Tari” would look almost the same). For most languages, this does not matter, but in rejistanian, the initial apostrophe has a meaning relating to the stress. As such, I want to ask the readers of this bog: what do you consider correct?