Example: {Il’la’ki ,Syku ji Kansu min’la’vorika, het sunreja?} – {Xe’la’tadva.}
(“2S-PST-know ,Syku and Kansu 3PL-spend.time, this how?” – “1S-PST-guess”)
“How did you know that Syku and Kansu spend time together?” – “I guessed it.”

This is a difficult term. As I was reminded today, calquing happens in many ways. It is easy to say that ‘tadva means “to guess”. but this of course does not express the entire meaning of this term. I guess I should be a bit more specific: Have you noticed the ‘guess’ in the last sentence? This is a term which cannot expressed with ‘tadva (Rejistanian would express the entire sentence quite differently: Hite’tan’xe mi’lanja’tinhu (literally: My specificness is probably advantageous) ). On the other hand, rejistanis to use ‘tadva to express solving riddles, even those which cannot be solved by luck.

It is quite hard not to calque terms by just translating one word in English or German as one rejistanian word and it takes quite a bit of… remaining in the… mental state of rejistanian to prevent that. I have found that it is quite helpful to have a word of the day blog to illustrate the exact meaning of every word (Sylvia Sotomayor manages of capture the essence of the Kēlen words quite eloquently and probably does this better than I can). ;) What do you do to capture the exact meaning of a term?

