A reader of this blog asked whether jaliex can be used for being ready (to leave for example). I immediately winced. I can see where he is coming from though. The usage of words is different in his native Slovenian, word X covers a different area of the syntactic plane than translation X’. This is a difficult thing to document, especially in constructed languages. I noticed that ‘iti veka ‘tes (to be in a good state to leave) sounded immediately right. I am not sure how to document every quirk, every immediately obvious [to me at least] idiom, every use which I thought of in the shower, in bed or during a train ride. I try to document idioms, but a few things just seem obvious to me out of a state of rejistanianess.

So for today, this very rejistanian word ‘iti is the word of the day. State here is not a political term but means ‘state of a system’/’state of mind’. Iti’het and iti’tan both mean state, though the difference here is a bit fickle. If the state is something abstract, it is iti’tan, if it is something more concrete (like “I am not in a good shape today”), iti’het.

Related terms:
‘itines: to update (ines means new)
itines’het: update
‘televonu iti oyki’tan’han: call in sick (actually, that you miss work during other circumstances, like the sickness of a child)

Example: Tani’het mi’iti sejil. (country-het 3S-have_state bad) The state is in a bad state.

